Remove Subscribers

Ashley Parks -

Instructions

There's two methods for removing (unsubscribing) subscribers from a campaign.

1) Customers can request to unsubscribe from your campaign by responding to any of your messages with any of the following word; STOP, END, CANCEL, UNSUBSCRIBE, or QUIT. Don't worry, we automatically unsubscribe customers that respond to your messages with any of these words.

2) You can manually unsubscribe a customer from a specific campaign by following the steps below.

  1. Select the campaign the subscriber that you wish to remove is subscribed to by clicking the Manage button from your list of campaigns on the campaign dashboard.
  2. Click the Subscribers icon in the campaign navigation bar in the top right hand corner of your campaign homescreen.
  3. On the righthand side of the screen you'll find a search field, which you'll use to find the phone number you wish to unsubscribe.
  4. Once you've found the phone number, click the View button for that specific subscriber.
  5. Find the blue link that says Unsubscribe Now, and click it.
  6. Confirm that they've been unsubscribed from your campaign by looking at the Subscriber State, which should be set to Unsubscribed after you follow the above steps.
Have more questions? Submit a request

4 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Dave Thompson

    Is there a way to remove yourself from only one group while remaining a member of other group(s)?  Apparently just sending "stop" will remove you from all groups.  Not sure the syntax to just remove from a single group.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Ashley Parks

    Dave, right now it's based on a time-stamp so it should only remove you from the last campaign you received a message from. We are working though on making this easier and more understandable. We will keep you in the know.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Anthony Saia

    I read that new FCC regulation requires mobile users to be opted-out of ALL campaigns once the STOP command is sent to the short code. This means that timestamp and/or other means to distinguish specific campaigns on a shared shortcode will no longer be allowed. This doesn't seem to make much sense. Can you confirm it's validity?  

  • 0
    Avatar
    Anthony Saia

    FYI I read the article here:  http://marketing.anchormobile.net/blog/bid/334266/SMS-Stop-Command-Stop-Means-STOP-ALL

    I hope this comment isn't flagged for spam...

Please sign in to leave a comment.